USDA, DOE name biomass advisory committee

By Jessica Ebert
The USDA and U.S. DOE announced in January the appointment of six new members to serve on the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee for a term of three years. In addition, seven members were reappointed.

The committee was established by the Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000. Members provide: expert advice on strategic planning; technical focus and direction of requests for proposals issued under the Biomass Research & Development Initiative; procedures for reviewing and evaluating proposals for funding; and encouragement of closer collaboration among federal and state agencies, industry players and growers.

Newly appointed members include: Gil Gutknecht, a consultant in Rochester, Minn.; Richard Hamilton, chief executive officer (CEO) of Ceres Inc. in Thousand Oaks, Calif.; Jay Levenstein, deputy commissioner of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in Tallahassee, Fla.; Shirley Neff, president and CEO of the Association of Oil Pipe Lines in Washington, D.C.; Tom Simpson, executive director of the Railway Supply Institute in Washington, D.C.; and Richard Timmons, president of the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association in Washington, D.C.

Renewed members include: Bob Dinneen, president of the Renewable Fuels Association in Washington, D.C.; Douglas Hawkins, program manager of sustainable development for Rohm and Haas Co. in Spring House, Pa.; Charles Kinoshita, interim associate dean of academic and student affairs at the College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources at the University of Hawaii in Honolulu; Eric Larson, affiliated faculty of the science, technology and environmental policy program at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University in Princeton, N.J.; James Martin, senior associate of Omni Tech International Ltd. in Prairie Village, Kan.; Scott Mason, director of business development for emerging technology at ConocoPhillips Petroleum Co. in Bartlesville, Okla.; and Edwin White, dean of research at the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, N.Y.

For more information about the committee and the Biomass Research & Development Initiative, visit